Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

2016 Nobel Prizes honour autophagy and molecular machines

With all three science Nobel Prizes unveiled, the Biochemical Society is thrilled to see that the field of molecular bioscience is so well represented.


The 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to cell biologist, Yoshinori Ohsumi, for his discovery of mechanisms explaining the cellular process known as autophagy, a natural destructive process that allows cells to remove dysfunctional components. The 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry has been awarded to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa for the design and synthesis of molecular machines, molecules with controllable movements that can perform tasks on addition of energy.


Arguably the most important week of the science calendar, the announcement of the 2016 Nobel Prizes for science has brought autophagy and molecular machines into the public consciousness.


Our Chair of the Executive Committee, Steve Busby, comments: “On behalf of the Society, I would like to congratulate the winners, all of whom have made an enormous contribution to the advancement of science that influences our field.” 


To celebrate this year’s Nobel Prizes, we have created a collection of articles from across the Portland Press portfolio, highlighting research in both fields.


If you have an interest in autophagy, we also have the 83rd Harden Conference Autophagy: From Molecules to Disease II coming up in July 2017. To receive the latest updates on the conference please register here.