Promoting equality and diversity in molecular biosciences and through this, in the broader life sciences, is at the top of the Society’s science policy agenda. To promote this, every year we award Diversity in Science Grants to support the community in their activities to deliver a more inclusive environment for all.

The grant scheme is increasingly popular and this year we received 27 applications, which is almost double the number of the applications received last year.  We are thrilled with the quality and creativity exhibited in the projects proposed and pleased to announce the following winners:

  • Joana Moscoso, Native Scientist, Project: “Native Biochemists”
  • Bashira Chowdhury, Auburn University, US, Project: “Bee a Biologist: Empowering Alabama's Aspiring Biologists Through Pollination”
  • Eva Sharpe, Institute for Cancer Research, UK, Project: “Who we are”
  • Jess Wade, Imperial College London and King’s College London, Project: “Hidden Women Wikithon”
  • Larissa Paver, freelance science communicator, Project: “Kitchen Table Science”
  • Matthew Lee, University of Bristol, Project: “Big Bang Bristol”
  • Thomas Tagoe, GhScientific, Project: “Science careers: knowledge influencers and motivators”

    Commenting on the grants, Dr David Pye, Chair of the Biochemical Society Policy Advisory Panel said:

    “Issues related to the underrepresentation or participation of groups in science are being addressed in the community, within educational establishments and in the workplace like never before. However, much still remains to be done, if we are to offer better support individuals from poor socioeconomic backgrounds, women, ethnic minorities, LGBT and others who have an interest, or are employed in scientific activities globally. Over the years the diversity grants offered by the Biochemical Society have supported activities that reach out to people and highlight issues related to Diversity in Science. It was a real pleasure to be able to offer the diversity grants again this year, and to have received such an interesting and exciting range of proposals. I am sure that this year’s awards will enable the recipients to send out the message that science is for everyone and that discrimination in science is set to become a thing of the past in the not too distant future.”


The judging panel included top experts including Ellie Cosgrave, ScienceGrrl, Lenna Cumberbath, Royal Society, Dr Sandra Kirk, Nottingham Trent University, Dr Cait MacPhee, University of Edinburgh, Rebecca McKelvey, In2science and Daniel Greenwood, the Crick Institute.

Further information on the Diversity in Science Grants and how to apply can be found on the Biochemical Society website.

Notes to editors

About the Biochemical Society


The Biochemical Society promotes the future of molecular biosciences; facilitating the sharing of expertise, supporting the advancement of biochemistry and molecular biology, and raising awareness of their importance in addressing societal grand challenges.

We achieve our mission by:

• Supporting the next generation of biochemists; promoting the opportunities offered by biochemistry and molecular biology through education and training from age 15 upwards

• Bringing together molecular bioscientists; fostering connections and providing a platform for collaboration and networking across our membership and the wider community to ensure a strong future for molecular biosciences in both academia and industry

• Promoting and sharing knowledge; enabling the circulation of scientific information through meetings, publications and public engagement to support innovation, inform decision-making and advance biochemistry and molecular biology

• Promoting the importance of our discipline; highlighting the role of molecular biosciences in interdisciplinary and translational research, while supporting the fundamental research that underpins applied studies