AstraZeneca Award

This award, generously supported by AstraZeneca, is made every 3 years in recognition of outstanding work which, through biomedical advances, leads to development of a new reagent or method. The research should have been carried out in a UK or Republic of Ireland laboratory.


The awardee receives £2000 prize money and is given the opportunity to present a lecture at Biochemical Society event. The awardee is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.





Past recipients:


2019: Ervin Fodor

2016: Carol Robinson (pictured)

2013: Alec Jeffreys

2010: Bonnie Wallace

2007: Michael Stratton

2005: Noreen Murray

2001: Steven Oliver

1998: Steven Homans

1995: C. Nick Hales