Professor Steve Busby, Chairman of the Awards Committee, said, ‘In the year the Biochemical Society celebrates 50 years of the Colworth Medal, it seems fitting that the 2014 winners demonstrate the strong future of biomolecular research in the UK and internationally. Our awards programme looks to not only showcase work already completed but to look ahead to the possibility of research yet to be done’.  


Award lectures will be presented throughout 2014 and will be published in Biochemical Society Transactions

The scientists receive the awards in recognition of their achievements in a wide variety of fields of research and development. The awards recognize the excellence of their work and the profound implications their work has had for the research community and wider society.  

(MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK)


Colworth Medal


(University of Newcastle, UK)


Novartis Prize and Medal

(King’s College London, London, UK)


GlaxoSmithKline Award

(University of Cambridge, UK) 


Heatley Medal and Prize

(Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of California, USA)


 Biochemical Society Centenary Award 

(MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK)


Morton Award 

(Harvard Medical School, USA)


 Keilin Award 



Early Career Research Award – Cells



Early Career Research Award – Molecular Structure and Function