Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

The Centenary Award

Centenary AwardIn 2011 the Biochemical Society introduced the Centenary Award to replace the Jubilee Lecture. 


The Centenary Award is awarded annually to a biochemist of distinction from any part of the world.

The winner of the award presents the Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins Memorial Lecture (the original award and medal are no longer a separate award) and is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.


The Lecturer receives an honorarium of £3000 and the Centenary medal. The award was designed by the artist Tom Phillips.

The 2016 Centenary Award will be awarded to Patrick Cramer at the 80th Harden Conference: Machines on Genes IV - Mechanisms of Actions of Large Macromolecular Machines on Genes Across Biological Scales at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Macclesfield, UK, 31 July—4 August 2016.


Past recipients:


2016: Patrick Cramer

2015: Chris Marshall

2013: G. Marius Clore 

2012: David Baker 

2011: Nahum Sonenberg