Centenary Award


In 2011 the Biochemical Society introduced the Centenary Award to replace the Jubilee Lecture


The Centenary Award is awarded annually to a biochemist of distinction from any part of the world.

The winner of the award is given the opportunity to present the Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins Memorial Lecture at a Society conference (the original award and medal are no longer a separate award) and is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.


The Lecturer receives £3000 prize money and the Centenary medal. The award was designed by the artist Tom Phillips.


The 2018 Centenary Award winner is Frank McCormick (University of California San Francisco Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, USA) , details about his award lecture presentation and how to attend will be added in 2018.



Past recipients:


2018: Frank McCormick

2017: Salvador Moncada

2016: Patrick Cramer

2015: Chris Marshall

2013: G. Marius Clore 

2012: David Baker 

2011: Nahum Sonenberg