Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

The Colworth Medal


Past recipients of the Colworth Medal

The Colworth Medal

The Colworth Medal is a prestigious annual award for outstanding research by a young biochemist of any nationality who has carried out the majority of their work in the UK or RoI. Donated in 1963 by Unilever Research Colworth Laboratory, the award is made to a scientist who is 35 years of age or under, at the time of the awards nomination deadline (1 January).


Those above this age limit, who have lost time early in their career through family commitments, illness, late entry into higher education or other good reasons, will be considered by the Awards Committee.


The recipient, who receives an honorarium of £3000, delivers a lecture at a conference of the Society and at at Unilever Research Laboratories. The lecture is published in Biochemical Society Transactions.



The 2014 Colworth Medal will be presented to Madan Babu (MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK) at the Biochemical Society AGM on 1 December 2014. 


The 2015 Colworth Medal has been awarded to Helen Walden (University of Dundee, UK). Further information regarding the presentation of the 2015 Colworth Medal will be available shortly.