Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

The GlaxoSmithKline Award

GlaxoSmithKline Award

The GlaxoSmithKline Award is given in recognition of research leading to new advances in medical science and is made in respect of research carried out in the UK or the Republic of Ireland during the 7 years preceding the date of nomination.


The award is made every 2 years and is specifically intended to recognize meritorious research by mid-career biochemists who are within 20 years of PhD completion at the time of the awards nomination deadline (31 January) in the field of biochemistry related to medicine.



Nominees that have completed their PhD more than 20 years ago but who have had a career break e.g. through family commitments, illness or other good reasons, will be considered by the Awards Committee.



The winner of the GlaxoSmithKline Award receives a glass sculpture and a £2000 honorarium. The award lecture is delivered at a Society conference and the awardee is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication. The GlaxoSmithKline glass sculpture presented to the awardee was designed and produced by the sculptor Katharine Dowson.


The 2016 winner of the GlaxoSmithKline Award, Charles Swanton will be presented with his award on 17 November at Charles Darwin House, London. 

Past recipients

2016: Charles Swanton

2014: Juan Martin-Serrano (pictured here receiving his award from former Society President Ron Laskey)

2012: Andrew Jackson

2010: Gideon Davies

2008: Stephen Jackson

2006: Seamus Martin

2004: David A. Lomas