Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

The Heatley Medal and Prize

Heatley MedalThe Heatley Medal and Prize is awarded for exceptional work in applying advances in biochemistry, and especially for developing practical uses that have created widespread benefits and value for society, and so have enhanced the reputation of biochemical research as a source of wellbeing and prosperity.


The award is named after Dr Norman Heatley, a scientist known for overcoming wartime shortages to make the production of penicillin possible and his role in paving the way for mass production. Dr Heatley worked closely with the Society's Industrial Biochemistry and Biotechnology Group (IBBG) and the Group originally sought nominations for the award.

The recipient of the Heatley Prize receives the medal and £2000 prize money and is given the opportunity to present a prize lecture at a Biochemical Society conference, and award winners are invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.




Past recipients

2017: Ian Graham

2014: Shankar Balasubramanian

2013: Mervyn Bibb

2008: Venki Ramakrishnan

2000: Roger Sayle

1996: Peter Dunhill

1994: Keith May