Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

The Morton Lecture

The Morton Lecture

The Morton Lecture was first awarded in 1978 to commemorate the late R.A. Morton.  The winners of the award lectureship demonstrate they have made an outstanding contribution to lipid biochemistry.


The late R.A. Morton was Johnston Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Liverpool and the current incumbent of that Chair sits with the Awards Committee when the Morton Lecturer is selected.


The Morton Lecture is given every other year at a conference of the Society and at the University of Liverpool. The lecturer receives an honorarium of £2000 and is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.


The 2014 Morton Lecturer, Harvey McMahon, (MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK) is pictured receiving his award from Ron Laskey, former Biochemical Society President. 





Past recipients:


2016: John Harwood

2014: Harvey McMahon

2012: Kai Simons

2010: Peter Cullen

2008: Roger Williams

2006: Philip Hawkins 
2004: Peter J. Parker    
2002: Robert H. Michell   
1999: Anthony Watts 
1996: R.M. Evans 

1995: M. Kates 

1994: Robin F. Irvine 

1992: S.-I. Hakomori 
1989: R.E. Pagano

1987: J.N. Hawthorne

1985: H.C. Rilling

1983: Trevor W. Goodwin

1981: H.F. DeLuca

1979: L.L.M. van Deenen

1978: K. Schreiber