Home
Membership
Members' Area
Get Involved
Conferences
Events
Education
Science Policy
Publications
Grants
Awards
About Us

Nucleus Group

The Nucleus Group is an informal group comprised of Scientific Educational Representatives from Research Councils, The Wellcome Trust, Learned Societies and similar not for profit organizations such as Kew, Association of British Pharmaceutical Industries and Nation Centre for Biotechnology Education etc.

 

The Group usually meets 3 times a year to discuss our educational activities and keep the network active. This saves duplication and allows groups to collaborate on projects.

 

Some years ago some members of Nucleus decided to put on the "Biology in the Real World" event at the ASE annual conference. This session has run over 7 years and is now an established part of the ASE conference programme.

 

Anyone working in the sector is welcome to join Nucleus. 

 

 


 

List of current Nucleus Members (2009)

 

Organisation & address
Contact name
Telephone & fax
Email address & website
 
Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour

c/o Dept of Biological

Cardiff School of Biosciences

Museum Avenue

Cardiff

CF10 3AX

Rob Thomas,

Charlotte Evans

Tel: 0161 247 1149
Fax: 0161 247 6365

m.dockery@mmu.ac.uk

 

http://asab.nottingham.ac.uk/

Association of British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI)

Southside

105 Victoria Street

London

SW1E 6QT

Sarah Jones

Tel: 020 7747 1429

Fax: 020 7747 1417

abpischools@abpi.org.uk

 

www.abpi.org.uk

Biochemical Society

Charles Darwin House

12 Roger Street

London

WC1N 2JL

Gemma Garrett,

Alexa Hime

Switchboard: 020 7280 4100

Direct:

020 7685 2454

education@biochemistry.org

 

www.biochemistry.org

Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)

Polaris House
North Star Avenue
Swindon

SN2 1UH

Tristan Bunn

Tel: 01793 413302
Fax: 01793 413382

Tristan.bunn@bbsrc.ac.uk

 

www.bbsrc.ac.uk

British Ecological Society

Charles Darwin House

12 Roger Street

London

WC1N 2JL

Karen Devine

Tel: 020 7685 2511

Fax: 020 8871 977

Karen@britishecologicalsociety.org

 

www.britishecologicalsociety.org

British Pharmacological Society

16 Angel Gate
City Road
London

EC1V 2SG

Annie Geraghty

Tel: 020 7239 0171

Tel: 020 7417 0111

Fax: 020 7417 0114

arg@bps.ac.uk


www.bps.ac.uk

British Society for Immunology

Vintage House

37 Albert Embankment

London

SE1 7TL

Hannah Hope Tel: 020 3031 9807

h.hope@immunology.org

 

www.immunology.org

 

Society of Biology

Charles Darwin House

12 Roger Street

London

WC1N 2JU

Rachel Forsyth

Tel: 020 7936 5932

rachelforsyth@societyofbiology.org

 

www.societyofbiology.org

 

Linnean Society

Burlington House

Piccadilly

London

W1J 0BF

Ruth Temple,

Leonie Berwick

Tel: 020 7434 4479

ruth@linnean.org

 

www.linnean.org

Microbiology in Schools Advisory Committee

27 Bulmershe Road
Reading

RG1 5RH

John Grainger

Tel: 0118 926 7204

j.m.grainger@reading.ac.uk

 

www.microbiologyonline.org.uk

 

National Centre for Biotechnology Education

Food Biosciences
University of Reading
Whiteknights PO Box 226
Reading

RG6 6AP

John Schollar

Tel: 0118 987 3743

Fax: 0118 975 0140

j.w.schollar@reading.ac.uk

 

www.ncbe.reading.ac.uk

Physiological Society, The

PO Box 11319
London

WC1X 8WQ

Chrissy Stokes, Angela Breslin

Tel: 020 7269 5727
Fax: 020 7269 5720

cstokes@physoc.org
abreslin@physoc.org

 

www.physoc.org

Research Councils UK (RCUK)

Polaris House
North Star Avenue
Swindon

SN2 1ET

Cheryl Hewer

Tel: 01793 413 076

Cheryl.Hewer@rcuk.ac.uk

 

www.rcuk.ac.uk

 

Royal Botanic Gardens

Kew
Richmond
Surrey

TW9 3AB

Gail Bromley

Tel: 020 8332 5613
Fax: 020 8332 5640
Mobile 07759313492

g.bromley@kew.org

 

www.kew.org

Royal Society, The

6-9 Carlton House Terrace
London

SW1Y 5AG

Anne Helme

Tel 020 7451 2561
Fax: 020 7451 2693

anne.helme@royalsociety.org 

www.royalsoc.ac.uk

Science and Plants for Schools

Cambridge University Botanic Garden
1 Brookside
Cambridge

CB2 1JE

Harriet Truscott

Tel: 01223 748455

hmt24@cam.ac.uk

 

www-saps.plantsci.cam.ac.uk

Society for Endocrinology

22 Apex Court
Woodlands
Bradley Stoke
Bristol

BS32 4JT

Jennie Evans

Tel: 01454 642 230
Fax: 01454 642 205

Jennie.evans@endocrinology.org

 

www.endocrinology.org

Society for Experimental Biology

IENS
Lancaster University
Lancaster

LA1 4YQ

Sarah Blackford

Tel: 01524 594690

s.blackford@lancaster.ac.uk

 

www.sebiology.org

Society for General Microbiology

Marlborough House
Basingstoke Road
Spencers Wood
Reading

RG7 1AE

Vicky Symington

Dariel Burdass

Tel: 0118 988 1809
Fax: 0118 988 5656

d.burdass@sgm.ac.uk
v.symington@sgm.ac.uk

 

www.microbiologyonline.org.uk

Wellcome Trust

215 Euston Road
London

NW1 2BE

Stephanie Sinclair

Tel: 020 7611 8264

Fax: 020 7611 8269

s.sinclaire@wellcome.ac.uk
 

www.wellcome.ac.uk