Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

Scientific Meetings and Training Events

The Biochemical Society provides an extensive range of events, including scientific conferences, outreach activities, medal lectures and policy and education events.  


Contact our events team here.


Find out about our policy and public engagement events:



Past Events > Leucine Rich Repeat Kinase 2: Ten Years Along the Road to Therapeutic Intervention

Leucine Rich Repeat Kinase 2: Ten Years Along the Road to Therapeutic Intervention

11—13 July 2016

Henley Business School, Greenlands, UK

A Biochemical Society Focused Meeting

Mutations in Leucine Rich Repeat Kinase 2 are the most common genetic cause of Parkinson’s disease, making this multidomain enzyme one of the most promising drug targets for Parkinson’s. Following ten years of cellular research into LRRK2, this meeting will take stock of the current state of our understanding of the genetics, cellular function and pharmacology of LRRK2, and look to the future of drug development targeting this complex protein.


  • LRRK2 and Parkinson’s disease: genetics, phenotype and pathology

  • Cellular and animal models for LRRK2 disease

  • LRRK2 cellular function and dysfunction

  • Targeting LRRK2: structural biology, enzyme function and drug discovery

Topics covered in this meeting will be published in Biochemical Society Transactions


Abstract deadline: 9 May 2016


Earlybird registration deadline: 9 May 2016

Registration is now open.


Oral communication slots are available at this meeting. All attendees, particularly researchers in the early stages of their career, are invited to submit a poster abstract for consideration as an oral communication.


Student Bursaries and Full and Early Career Bursaries are available for this meeting.

Not a member of the Biochemical Society? Join today and save up to £100 on your registration fee.


Invited Speakers Include:

Dario Alessi (University of Dundee, United Kingdom)

Matthew LaVoie (Harvard Medical School, U.S.A.)
Maximiliano Gutierrez (Francis Crick Institute, United Kingdom)
Sandra Soukup (VIB research Institute, Belgium)
Heather Melrose (Mayo Clinic Jacksonville, U.S.A.)
Sabine Hilfiker (IPBLN-CSIC, Spain)
Mark Cookson (NIH, USA)
Thomas Gasser (Hertie Institute for clinical brain research, Germany)
David Dextor (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
Arjan Kortholt (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
Darren Moore (Van Andel Institute, U.S.A.)
Heather Mortiboys (University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
Warren Hirst (Pfizer, U.S.A.)

View the full scientific programme here