Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us


The Biochemical Society relies on its membership to help deliver its mission of supporting and promoting the molecular biosciences.


Local Ambassadors are a key group of Members who help us to achieve this goal. They are the first point of contact for the Society in their home institutions. Local Ambassadors encourage new membership, serve as a conduit for the transfer of ideas between local members and the Council of Trustees, and also help to organize local events such as student receptions and sponsored seminars.


Local Ambassadors are asked to:

  • Organize one Biochemical Society-sponsored seminar each year. The Society would provide up to £200 to support the cost of speaker travel and/or refreshments. We request that this is used as an opportunity to promote membership of the Society
  • Help recruit new members at their institution
  • Promote the Society's activities, grants and journals

In return for this we offer free membership of the Biochemical Society and any literature and support that you might need in holding your recruitment event. We also send you a twice yearly pack of Society material for display at your institution or on a departmental notice board along with occasional emails about our activities.


Current Local Ambassadors are listed below. If your institution is not represented on this list and you feel that you could help, please contact Rowena Mitchell, Membership Manager, for further information.


Local Ambassadors' Area



UK and Republic of Ireland - Local Ambassadors  
Local Ambassador

University of Aberdeen

Professor Heather Wallace

Aberystwyth University Dr David Whitworth
Anglia Ruskin University Dr Richard Jones

Aston University

Professor Roslyn Bill

Aston University
Dr Alan Goddard
Babraham Institute
Dr Pamela Lochhead

University of Bath

Dr Julien Licchesi

University of Bedfordshire Dr Lindsay McDermott  

Queen's University Belfast

Dr Edel Hyland

University of Birmingham

Dr Steve Minchin

Birmingham Medical School Dr Alex Conner
University of Bradford  Professor Tim Palmer  
University of Brighton  Professor David Timson     

University of Bristol

Dr Paul Race

University of Bristol

Dr Kelly Moule

Brunel University Dr Ruth Mackay

University of Cambridge

Dr Sue Ozanne

University of Cambridge Dr Himansha Singh

University of Cardiff

Dr Debbie Mason

Cardiff Metropolitan University Dr Rachel Adams
University College Cork Dr Eoin Fleming
Coventry University
Dr Sharon Williams
Dublin City University
Dr Anne Parle-McDermott

Trinity College Dublin

Professor Seamus Martin

Trinity College Dublin

Dr Derek Nolan
University College Dublin Dr Jana Haase

University of Dundee

Dr Gopal Sapkota

University of Dundee

Dr Graham Rena

University of East Anglia Dr Maria Vardakou

University of Edinburgh

Dr Matthew Brook

Edinburgh Napier University Dr Jenny Fraser

University of Essex

Dr Jonathan Worrall

University of Glasgow

Dr Sharon Kelly

University of Glasgow

Dr Tom Van Agtmael

University of Greenwich

Dr Lauren Pecorino

University of Hertfordshire Dr Pryank Patel
Herriott-Watt University Dr Stephen Yarwood  

University of Huddersfield

Dr Shamus Burns

University of Hull Dr Isabel Pires  
Keele University Dr Sheila Hope

University of Kent

Dr Mark Shepherd

Kingston University
Dr Nigel Page
University of Central Lancashire
Dr Vicky Jones

University of Lancaster

Dr Fiona Benson

University of Leeds

Dr Stephen Muench
University of Leeds
Professor John Colyer
Leeds Beckett University Dr Vincent Postis  

University of Leicester

Professor John Schwabe

De Montfort University, Leicester Professor Parvez Haris
University of Limerick  Dr Kieran McGourty  
University of Lincoln  Dr Stefan Millson  
University of Liverpool
Professor Jerry Turnbull
Liverpool John Moores University Dr Andrew Powell
Barts Cancer Institute,
Queen Mary University of London
Dr John Foster
Imperial College London Dr Stuart Haslam

King's College London

Dr Maddy Parsons
London Metropolitan University Sheelagh Heugh  
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Dr Nick Furnham

Institute of Child Health, University College London

Dr Mona Bajaj-Elliott

St George's University of London
Dr Kim Jonas

Royal Veterinary College, University College London

Dr Michelangelo Campanella

University of Manchester Dr Martin Pool


Local Ambassador
Manchester Metropolitan University Dr Chris Murgatroyd
National University of Ireland Maynooth Dr Sinead Miggin
National University of Ireland Galway Dr Andrew Flaus 

University of Newcastle

Dr Zofia Chrzanowska-Lightowlers

John Innes Centre, Norwich Dr Abbas Maqbool

University of Nottingham

Dr Sally Wheatley

Nottingham Trent University

Dr Aldo Gutierrez

Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism Dr Sara Falcone
Welcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, Oxford
Dr Thomas Nicol
Weatherall Institute, University of Oxford
Dr Robert Beagrie
University of Portsmouth

Dr Alessandro Siani

University of Reading

Dr Mike Fry

Royal Holloway, University of London Dr Chris Wilkinson

University of Salford

Dr David A Pye

University of Sheffield

Dr John Rafferty

Sheffield Hallam University Dr Susan Campbell

University of Southampton

Dr Mark Coldwell

University of St Andrews Dr Jacqueline Nairn

University of Strathclyde

Professor Susan Pyne

University of Sunderland Dr Mark Carlile
University of Surrey Dr Rachel Simmonds

University of Sussex

Professor Simon Morley

University of Swansea

Dr Paula Row

University of Ulster, Coleraine

Dr Paul Thompson

University of Westminster

Dr Caroline Smith

University of York

Dr Gareth Evans

University of Warwick
Dr Elizabeth Fullam
University of Wolverhampton Dr Terry Bartlett 
International Local Ambassadors  
The Society also has International Local Ambassadors that promote the Biochemical Society and it's activities, grants and journals in the country they are based in.

Industry Local Ambassadors


Dr Michal Bista - Astrazeneca

Dr Samantha Hall - Syngenta

Dr Augustin Amour - GlaxoSmithKline


Student Ambassadors


Find out how to become a Student Ambassador for your institution here.