Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

Irish Area Section


This Group represents both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (RoI). Each Irish University is represented on the IAS Committee by one academic from relevant Departments/Schools. Current Committee members are:

Chair: Dr Eoin Fleming
Chair: Dr Eoin Fleming

University College Cork, Ireland

Keywords: histidine decarboxylase, regulation of iron metabolism, protein misfolding diseases, protein degradation, Endoplasmic Reticulum Website

Secretary: Dr Paul Thompson
Secretary: Dr Paul Thompson

University of Ulster, Coleraine, Northern Ireland, UK

Keywords: transcriptional regulation, epigenetics, vitamin D, prostate cancer, nuclear receptor-mediated gene activation Website

Treasurer: Dr Patrick Kiely
Treasurer: Dr Patrick Kiely

University of Limerick, Ireland

Keywords: cell signalling, cell migration, cell adhesion, protein scaffolding, cancer, neurobiology, RACK1 Website

Dr Sinead Miggin
Dr Sinead Miggin

National University of Ireland, Maynooth, Ireland

Keywords: immune signalling, inflammation, toll-like receptor, oncovirus, osteoarthritis Website

Dr Andrew Flaus
Dr Andrew Flaus

National University of Ireland,

Galway, Ireland

Keywords: transcription, chromatin, nucleosome, remodelling histones, chromosome biology Website 

Dr Derek Nolan

Derek Nolan

Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Keywords: endocytosis, trypanosomes



Dr Patrick Kiely
Dr Patrick Kiely

University of Limerick, Ireland

Keywords: cell signalling, cell migration, cell adhesion, protein scaffolding, cancer, neurobiology, RACK1 Website

Dr Alexander Galkin
Dr Alexander Galkin

Queen's University, Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK 

Keywords: bioenergetics, mitochondrial biochemistry, mitochondrial Complex I, hypoxia, cardiovascular pathologies, ischaemia/reperfusion Website

Dr Patricia Maguire
Dr Patricia Maguire

University College Dublin, Ireland

Keywords: platelet biochemistry, cardiovascular disease, WNT signalling, biochemical interaction networks, proteomics. Website

Dr Caroline Jefferies

Royal College of Surgeons (RCSI), Ireland

Keyword:  immune signalling, inflammation, autoimmune disease, Systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), toll-like receptors Website



Dr Edel Hyland

Queen's University Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK

Keywords: yeast experimental evolution, epigenetics


Dr Anne Parle McDermott

Dublin City University, Ireland


IAS Activities
IAS Activities








Annual Meetings


The Meetings emphasise presentations by postgraduate students representing the different Biological Science Departments and Schools in Ireland. In addition, these Meetings include Seminars by invited speakers and, as a special highlight, a Lecture by the recipient of the Annual IAS Medal.


Upcoming Meeting

Inflammatory Diseases - Mechanisms and Clinical Perspectives, 3 - 4 November 2016, Maynooth University, Ireland

Recent Meetings


Brain Disorders Across the Lifespan: Translational Neuroscience From Molecule to Man, 12—13 September 2013, University College Cork, Ireland

New Perspectives in Thrombosis, Haemostasis and Vascular Biology, 13 - 14 November 2014, University College Dublin, Ireland

Protein Interactions in Biology, 7 - 8 December 2015, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland

IAS Seminar Series

The IAS has recently decided to establish an IAS Sponsored Seminar Series. By replacing the traditional Irish Lecture Tour, the IAS will each year sponsor 4-5 Seminars by distinguished scientists in the area of Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. Departments/Schools in each of the Irish colleges can apply for sponsorship for up to €500 to support one such Seminar. Applications/Suggestions for speakers should be sent to Eoin Fleming UCC, directly or through the IAS Committee representatives in the various Irish colleges, and will be evaluated and approved by the IAS Committee. 


Annual IAS Medal


For many years the Royal Irish Academy (RIA) awarded a medal in biochemistry. Recently the RIA stopped awarding a medal specifically for biochemistry and the IAS decided to award its own medal to replace this as part of its mission to promote the molecular life sciences on the island of Ireland. The award is made for sustained excellence in the field demonstrated by work carried out on the island.
Past recipients:

2015: Martin Caffrey (Trinity College Dublin)

2014: Paul Moynagh (Maynooth University)

2013: Marina Lynch (Trinity College Dublin) 

2012: Luke O'Neill (Trinity College Dublin)

2011: Michael Rowan (Trinity College Dublin)

2010: Paul Engel (University College Dublin)
2009: Noel Lowndes (National University of Ireland, Galway)
2008: Therese Kinsella (University College Dublin)
2007: Rosemary O'Connor (University College Cork)
2006: Kay Ohlendieck (National University of Ireland, Maynooth)
2005: Peter Flatt (University of Ulster) 




2013 recipient Marina Lynch receiving her award




2014 recipient Paul Moynagh receiving his award