Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

Society honours outstanding international bioscientists


Eleven eminent scientists and exceptional early career researchers have been honoured in the annual Biochemical Society Awards.


Each winner exemplifies the very best of the bioscience community in fields ranging from bioenergetics and electron transport to lipidomics.


“The Biochemical Society Awards are the perfect way to honour exceptional scientists within the bioscience community. As ever, the entry criteria are tough and the standards high and the awards are a real tribute to the talent within our community. On behalf of the Society, I’d like to congratulate the winners, all of whom have made outstanding contributions in their fields. Well done”, said Professor Colin D Bingle, Acting Chair of the Awards Committee.


This year, the winners’ list includes a number of high-profile international scientists from the UK, Austria, France, Germany and USA.


These include Professor Frank McCormick, PhD, FRS, from the University of California San Francisco Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center. Professor McCormick is renowned for his transformative discoveries in tumour biology and cancer research and won the 2018 Centenary Award.


Another notable example is Dr Anne Bertolotti, PhD, from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge, who won the 2018 GlaxoSmithKline Award for discovering small molecule inhibitors of phosphatases with her team. These were previously thought to be undruggable and indeed one inhibitor has shown promising results in models of neurodegenerative diseases.


You can read more about the recipients on the Awards section of the website.


All of the award prizes and medal lectureships will take place in 2018 and all award winners will be invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.