Members' Area
Get Involved
Science policy
About Us

Scientific Meetings and Training Events

The Biochemical Society provides an extensive range of events, including scientific conferences, training events, outreach activities, medal lectures, and policy and education events.  This programme provides an excellent opportunity to magnify your research by submitting an abstract for an oral communication or poster presentation, and sharing your work with the wider molecular biosciences community.


Contact our events team here.


Find out about our policy and public engagement events:


       Policy           Public Engagement Online Training 



Past Events > 79th Harden Conference: Oxygen Evolution and Reduction - Common Principles

79th Harden Conference: Oxygen Evolution and Reduction - Common Principles

16—20 April 2016

Grauer Bär, Innsbruck, Austria

This event is co-organized by COST


COST members are eligible for applying to COST funding to attend the 79th Harden Conference: Oxygen Evolution and Reduction - Common Principles.


The oxygen evolving complex (OEC) of photosystem II is responsible for the formation of atmospheric oxygen. Cytochrome oxidase (CO) and related respiratory oxidases convert oxygen back into water as part of the respiratory processes that provide the energy for survival of most living organisms.

The underlying redox chemistry of oxygen/water interconversion is complex and these enzymes have evolved unique mechanisms whose performance has yet to be achieved with (bio)mimetic chemical systems. Mechanistic and structural questions are common and yet the two enzyme systems are rarely discussed comparatively. The format of this Harden meeting is designed to bring together such expertise.



  • Atomic structures of the oxygen evolving photosystem II
  • Atomic structures of cytochrome c oxidase and related oxidases
  • Reaction cycle mechanisms of oxygen evolution and oxygen reduction
  • Spectroscopic methods to study mechanisms
  • Computational methods to study mechanisms
  • Coupled proton and electron transfer (PCET) within proteins
  • Intraprotein substrate (oxygen, water, proton) pathways
  • Biomimetic systems

Abstract deadline - extended: 18 February 2016

Abstract submission has closed. If you wish to send a late abstract, please contact the Conference Office (

Earlybird registration deadline - extended: 18 February 2016

Registration for this event is now closed.


Oral communication slots are available at this meeting. All attendees, particularly researchers in the early stages of their career, are invited to submit a poster abstract for consideration as an oral communication.


Unique to the Biochemical Society, Harden Conferences are residential research conferences covering a specialist topic.


All participants must be resident for the duration of the conference. Scientists wishing to participate are asked to register online.


Bursaries and free places


Bursary application is now open.


A limited number of bursaries to cover the cost of registration are available to assist younger members of the Biochemical Society to attend the conferences.


Preference will be given to senior graduate students (or those who gained their Ph.D. in the last 5 years) and restricted to members of the Biochemical Society.


Applications for these places should be sent to the Biochemical Society from the applicant's supervisor and should be accompanied by an independent reference.

Not a member of the Biochemical Society? Join today and save up to £100 on your registration fee.

Invited speakers are:

  • James Barber (Imperial College London)
  • Athina Zouni (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
  • Jian-Ren Shen (Okayama University)
  • Robert B. Gennis (University of Illinois)
  • Pia Ädelroth (Stockholm University)
  • Shelagh Ferguson-Miller (Michigan State University)
  • Per Siegbahn (University of Stockholm)
  • Ville Kaila (Technische Universität München)
  • Marilyn Gunner (City College of New York)
  • P. Leslie Dutton (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Ana Moore (Arizona State University)
  • Anthony Moore (University of Sussex)
  • Bill Rutherford (Imperial College London)
  • Holger Dau (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • David Britt (University of California, Davis)
  • Mårten Wikström (University of Helsinki) 
  • Peter Brzezinski (Stockholm University)
  • Junko Yano (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • Petra Fromme (Arizona State University)
  • Nicholas Cox (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion)