The GlaxoSmithKline Award is given in recognition of research leading to new advances in medical science and is made in respect of research carried out in the UK or the Republic of Ireland during the 7 years preceding the date of nomination.

The award is made every 2 years and is specifically intended to recognize meritorious research by mid-career biochemists who are within 20 years of PhD completion at the time of the awards nomination deadline (31 January) in the field of biochemistry related to medicine.

Nominees that have completed their PhD more than 20 years ago and who have had a career break e.g. through family commitments, illness or other good reasons, will be considered by the Awards Committee. For full details on this and how to submit an award nomination please click here

The winner of the GlaxoSmithKline Award receives:

  • A glass sculpture (The sculpture was designed and produced by the sculptor Katharine Dowson)
  • £2000 prize money
  • The opportunity to deliver a lecture at a Society event 
  • The opportunity to submit an article to a Society-owned publication



  • 2010: Gideon Davies
  • 2008: Stephen Jackson
  • 2006: Seamus Martin
  • 2004: David A. Lomas