News & Media

Biochemical Society announces its 2023 award recipients

News, Jun 06 2022

The work and contribution of twelve eminent bioscientists and exceptional early career researchers has been acknowledged in the annual Biochemical Society Awards. Each recipient has been recognised for excellence in their field, ranging from RNA-binding proteins and centrosome assembly to molecular medicine and anti-cancer drugs.

Professor Colin Bingle, Professor of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology at the University of Sheffield, and Chair of the Biochemical Society’s Awards Committee, says: “I want to offer my congratulations to all of the 2023 Biochemical Society Award winners, whose names have been announced. As ever, the Awards Committee was presented with the difficult task of selecting nominees from an impressive group of candidates. The chosen recipients represent a cross-section of the outstanding work taking place in our community, across a range of career stages. They should all be justly proud of their achievements. Well done to them all.”

Professor Nicola Curtin, the recipient of The Heatley Medal and Prize, adds: “The Heatley Medal is special to me because I am driven by both scientific curiosity and a desire to use this work to improve human health and, like Norman Heatley, I recognise that luck and teamwork has contributed to the success of this work.”


The full list of recipients of the Biochemical Society’s 2023 Awards are:

The Centenary Award

  • Professor Matthias W. Hentze, European Molecular Biology Laboratory

The Colworth Medal

  • Dr Stephen Wallace, University of Edinburgh

Early Career Research Award

  • Dr Amy Vincent, Newcastle University
  • Dr Tom Deegan, MRC Human Genetics Unit

Excellence in Science Award (sponsored by Portland Press)

  • Professor Jordan Raff, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford

The Heatley Medal and Prize

  • Professor Nicola Curtin, Newcastle University

Industry and Academic Collaboration Award

  • Dr Jacob Bush, GSK

International Award

  • Dr Antonina Roll-Mecak, National Institutes of Health  

The Sir Philip Randle Lecture

  • Professor Grahame Hardie, University of Dundee
  • Professor Guy Rutter, Imperial College London

Teaching Excellence Award

  • Dr Barry Ryan, Technological University Dublin

The Thudichum Medal Lecture

  • Professor Frances Platt, University of Oxford

Read more about the recipients on our Awards pages

Each year, the Biochemical Society presents a series of prestigious awards that recognize excellence and achievement in both specific and general fields of science. Six of these awards are presented annually, with the remaining awarded either biennially or triennially. Candidates are nominated by their peers and the winners are agreed by a judging panel of respected scientists from across a range of different scientific backgrounds.

These winners will receive their prize and deliver an award or medal lecture in 2023. All of the awards and medal lectureships carry prize money and winners will be invited to submit an article to one of the Society’s journals.

Nominations for the Biochemical Society’s 2024 Awards open in August 2022 and can be made by and for members and non-members alike.