The Biochemical Society would like to congratulate the following individuals, who have been recognised in HM The Queen’s Birthday Honours List 2020 for their exemplary work in the biosciences.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Andrew Harrison
Chief Executive Officer
Diamond Light Source

Dr Deborah O’Neil
Chief Executive Officer

Professor Sheena Radford
Astbury Professor of Biophysics
University of Leeds

Professor Timothy Spector
Professor of Genetic Epidemiology
King’s College London

Professor Catherine Sudlow
Professor of Neurology and Clinical Epidemiology
University of Edinburgh

Professor Emma Thomson
Professor of Infectious Diseases and Consultant Virologist
University of Glasgow

Professor Sarah Walker
University of Oxford and University College London

Member of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Laura Bowater
Professor of Microbiology Education
University of East Anglia

Professor Christian Delles
Professor of Cardiovascular Prevention
University of Glasgow

Professor Paul Elkington
Professor of Respiratory Medicine
Southampton University

Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Edward Hill
Executive Director
National Oceanography Centre

Professor Yadvinder Malhi
Professor of Ecosystem Science
University of Oxford

Professor Sophie Scott
Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience
University College London

Professor David Webb
Christison Professor of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology
University of Edinburgh

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Muffy Calder
Vice Principal and Head
College of Science and Engineering
University of Glasgow

Emma Walmsley
Chief Executive Officer

Knight Bachelor

Professor Stephen Holgate
Clinical Professor of Immunopharmacology and Honorary Consultant Physician
University of Southampton

Companion of the Order of the Bath

Professor Peter Borriello
Chief Executive
Veterinary Medicines Directorate