News & Media

Biochemical Society announces 2025 award recipients

News, Apr 04 2024

Biochemical Society

Following a record year of nominations, the work and contribution of fifteen eminent bioscientists, outstanding educators and exceptional early career researchers has been acknowledged in the annual Biochemical Society Awards.

From the presentation of the inaugural Inspiration and Resilience Award to the first female recipient of The Sir Philip Randle Lecture, each recipient has been recognised for excellence in their field as well as a strong commitment to build, support, and nurture future talent. Winners of the 2025 Awards represent a cross-section of the molecular biosciences ranging from redox biology and plant-microbe interactions to mechanochemistry and virology.

Professor Steve Busby, Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Birmingham, and Chair of the Biochemical Society’s Awards Committee, says: "The list of the 2025 Biochemical Society award winners is impressive and, of course, we have a wonderful mix of awardees, since each prize is targeted to a different section of our community. This is due to great foresight by the Society’s managers and funders, over many many years. As well as congratulating the winners, I want to say thanks for all the hard work put in by nominators, supporters, Biochemical Society staff and the Awards Panel during the current round, this scheme could not work without you and your efforts made my job easy!”

Dr Daniel Moreira, the recipient of the inaugural Inspiration and Resilience Award, adds: “Receiving this Award is an incredible honour that validates the work and perseverance behind my research in comparative biochemistry. As an early career researcher, receiving such an award enhances my visibility in the scientific community and supports the future development of my work. It not only acknowledges my efforts to conduct research with modest funding and against logistical challenges but also shines a light on the potential of emerging researchers in similar conditions, especially in the Global South.”

Professor Sonia Rocha, the recipient of The Sir Philip Randle Lecture, adds: “It is an honour to receive this award, especially as the first female recipient. I would like to thank all the members of my team past and present, the scientific community in areas we work in, and all my mentors throughout my career. This award highlights our work in how cells change in response to reduced oxygen availability, a master regulator of metabolism. We will continue to investigate this response, which is so important for health and disease across all multicellular organisms.”

The full list of recipients of the Biochemical Society’s 2025 Awards are:

  • The AstraZeneca Award

Professor Róisín M Owens, University of Cambridge


  • Biochemical Society Award – Significant Breakthrough or Achievement

Dr Zhao-Qing Luo, Purdue University


  • Biochemical Society Award – Sustained Excellence

Professor Rob Cross, University of Warwick


  • The Centenary Award

Professor Sheena Radford, University of Leeds


  • The Colworth Medal

Dr Alexander Borodavka, University of Cambridge


  • Early Career Research Award

Dr Pau Castel, New York University

Dr Shey Robert Adamu, University of Buea

Dr Tatsuya Nobori, Salk Institute (in transition to The Sainsbury Laboratory)


  • Industry and Academic Collaboration Award

Professor Gopal Sapkota, University of Dundee


  • Inspiration and Resilience Award

Dr Daniel Carneiro Moreira, University of Brasília


  • International Award

Professor Renae Ryan, The University of Sydney 


  • Research Support Award

Dr Sam T. Mugford, John Innes Centre


  • The Sir Philip Randle Lecture

Professor Sonia Rocha, University of Liverpool


  • Teaching Excellence Award – Early Career

Dr Nicholas Weise, The University of Manchester


  • Teaching Excellence Award – Established Educator

Dr David Tree, Brunel University London


You can read more about the recipients here.

Each year, the Biochemical Society presents a series of prestigious awards that recognise excellence and achievement in both specific and general fields of science. Nine of these awards are presented annually, with the remaining awarded either biennially or triennially. Candidates are nominated by their peers and the winners are agreed by a judging panel of respected scientists from across a range of different scientific backgrounds.

These winners will receive their prize and deliver an award or medal lecture in 2025. All of the awards and medal lectureships carry prize money and winners will be invited to submit an article to one of the Society’s journals. View our events calendar to find upcoming award lectures from our previously announced 2024 winners and stay connected for further updates on our 2025 cohort.

Nominations for the Biochemical Society’s 2026 Awards open in July 2024 and can be made by and for members and non-members alike.