Awards Listing

The GlaxoSmithKline Award

The GlaxoSmithKline Award is given in recognition of research leading to new advances in medical science and is made in respect of research carried out in the UK or the Republic of Ireland during the 7 years preceding the date of nomination.

The award is made every 2 years and is specifically intended to recognize meritorious research by mid-career biochemists in the field of biochemistry related to medicine. 

The recipient is given:

  • £2,000 prize money
  • A glass sculpture (designed and produced by the sculptor Katharine Dowson) 
  • The opportunity to present a lecture at a Society event or webinar 
  • An invitation to submit an article to one of our journals, with any fees waived

Eligibility criteria:

  • Awarded biennially 
  • Awarded for research leading to new advances in medical science 
  • Nominees are typically mid-career, within 20 years of receiving their highest qualification 
  • The research should have been carried out in the UK or Republic of Ireland 
  • Nominees can be either international or UK based
  • This award is only open to individuals 

The Awards Committee will consider the following aspects of all nominations for The GlaxoSmithKline Award as appropriate:

  • Originality of research 
  • Impact and scope of research 
  • Quality of outputs – publications and/or patents and/or software 
  • Commitment to build, support, and nurture future talent e.g., mentorship 
  • Other indicators of esteem demonstrated by the nominator    
Biochemical Society Awards logo

Recent Award Lecture

Ivan Ahel presented his Award Lecture 'ADP-ribosylation in health and disease' as part of our Biochemistry Focus webinar series.

View the recording

Contact us

For further information please get in touch with the Awards department.


Juan Martin-Serrano
Andrew Jackson
Gideon Davies
Stephen Jackson
Seamus Martin
David A. Lomas